Spring Gear Shop Store

Baseball Set for Wounded Warriors Exhibition

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 11/28/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- The University of Miami baseball team is set to host the Wounded Warriors Amputee Softball Team for a 7 p.m. exhibition contest Sat., Dec. 8 at Alex Rodriguez Park at Mark Light Field.

General admission tickets to Saturday's game are available for purchase in person at the UM Ticket office, located at the BankUnited Center. All tickets are priced at $10.

The mission of the WWAST, comprised of young veterans and active duty soldiers who have lost limbs while serving their country in the military, is to raise awareness, through exhibition and celebrity softball games, of the sacrifices and resilience of military personnel, and highlight their ability to rise above any challenge.

The WWAST is comprised of young, competitive, athletic veterans and active duty soldiers who have lost limbs post-9/11, while serving their country in the military. The team includes individuals with a variety of amputations.  Some are still in the service, others are attending college, and some have moved on to new careers.

Pregame festivities to the game will begin at 6:30 p.m. All proceeds from the game, including $10 general admission tickets available at the gate, will go to the Wounded Warriors.

To learn more about the game, in addition to a scheduled doubleheader at Tropical Park, click HERE. For more about the WWAST and its mission, click HERE.
 

 

Schedule
 
Saturday, April 18
Baseball at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
2 - 5 (L)
Sunday, April 19
Baseball at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
10:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Baseball vs. FAU
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Live Video
Friday, April 24
Baseball vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, April 25
Baseball vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
560 WQAM
ESPNU
Sunday, April 26
Baseball vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Saturday, May 02
Baseball at Pittsburgh (Game One)
Pittsburgh, Pa.
1:00 PM
Baseball at Pittsburgh (Game Two)
Pittsburgh, Pa.
7:00 PM
Sunday, May 03
Baseball at Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pa.
1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 06
Baseball vs. Bethune-Cookman
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Live Video
Friday, May 08
Baseball vs. NYIT
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, May 09
Baseball vs. NYIT
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Live Video
Sunday, May 10
Baseball vs. NYIT
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Live Video
Thursday, May 14
Baseball vs. Georgia Tech
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Friday, May 15
Baseball vs. Georgia Tech
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola