Uploaded Ad

Baseball Set for Wounded Warriors Exhibition

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 11/28/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- The University of Miami baseball team is set to host the Wounded Warriors Amputee Softball Team for a 7 p.m. exhibition contest Sat., Dec. 8 at Alex Rodriguez Park at Mark Light Field.

General admission tickets to Saturday's game are available for purchase in person at the UM Ticket office, located at the BankUnited Center. All tickets are priced at $10.

The mission of the WWAST, comprised of young veterans and active duty soldiers who have lost limbs while serving their country in the military, is to raise awareness, through exhibition and celebrity softball games, of the sacrifices and resilience of military personnel, and highlight their ability to rise above any challenge.

The WWAST is comprised of young, competitive, athletic veterans and active duty soldiers who have lost limbs post-9/11, while serving their country in the military. The team includes individuals with a variety of amputations.  Some are still in the service, others are attending college, and some have moved on to new careers.

Pregame festivities to the game will begin at 6:30 p.m. All proceeds from the game, including $10 general admission tickets available at the gate, will go to the Wounded Warriors.

To learn more about the game, in addition to a scheduled doubleheader at Tropical Park, click HERE. For more about the WWAST and its mission, click HERE.
 

 

Schedule
 
Friday, April 25
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
6:30 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Saturday, April 26
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
7:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Sunday, April 27
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Friday, May 02
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, May 03
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Sunday, May 04
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 07
Baseball vs. Florida Gulf Coast
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Friday, May 09
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
6:00 PM
Saturday, May 10
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
1:00 PM
Sunday, May 11
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
12:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
RSN
Thursday, May 15
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
Friday, May 16
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
Saturday, May 17
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
12:00 PM
Tuesday, May 20
Baseball at 2014 ACC Baseball Championship
Greensboro, N.C.
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola
Nike