Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 08/13/2012
Print RSS
Hendricks Named to ACC Legends Roster

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference released its Class of 2012 Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends on Monday, and former Hurricanes’ defensive end Ted Hendricks was among those receiving recognition as one of the conference’s all-time greats.

Hendricks, known as the “Mad Stork” for his tall (6-7), angular build and his dominating defensive play, started three seasons at defensive end for the Miami Hurricanes under coach Charlie Tate. A three-time All-America for the Hurricanes, he earned consensus, first-team All-America honors in 1967 and 1968, and led Miami to a 20-11-1 record. He ended his collegiate career as Miami’s all-time leading tackler with 318 hits in 1968. That year, he was named UPI National Lineman of the Year and finished 5th in the Heisman Trophy balloting.

He went on to a spectacular 15-year NFL career as an outside linebacker playing in 215 consecutive games with the Baltimore Colts, Green Bay Packers, Oakland and L.A Raiders. During his time in the NFL, he helped lead his teams to four Super Bowl championships, was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection, four times selected as an All-Pro and five times named second-team All-Pro. He was inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame in 1987 and was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990. He was named to the NFL’s 75th Anniversary All-Time team and to the NFL’s All-Decade team of the 1970’s.

He was inducted into the University of Miami Hall of Fame in 1980, to its Ring of Honor in 1997 and had his jersey number—number 89—retired, also in 1997. His philanthropic foundation—The Ted Hendricks Foundation--with goals aimed at providing assistance to local and national charities through awards, grants and scholarship programs aimed at recreational, health and educational programs for both youth and seniors, also sponsors the Ted Hendricks Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive end, but which also considers in the selection process academic and community excellence. Originally a native of Guatemala, he grew up in Miami Springs, Fla., and now lives in suburban Chicago, Ill.

The Legends will be honored at this year’s Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend. They will be recognized at the ACC Night of Legends sponsored by the Belk Bowl on Friday, Nov. 30, and on Dec. 1, during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the 8th Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which will be nationally televised with either a 7:45 pm (ESPN) or 8 p.m. (ABC) kickoff.

2012 Dr Pepper ACC Championship Game Legends

Name School Years
Bob Hyland Boston College 1964-66
Bennie Cunningham Clemson 1973-75
Mike McGee Duke 1957-59
Sam Cowart Florida State 1993-97
Ken Swilling Georgia Tech 1988-91
Chet Hanulak Maryland 1951-53
Ted Hendricks Miami 1966-68
Dre' Bly North Carolina 1996-98
Torry Holt NC State 1995-98
Frank Quayle Virginia 1966-68
Pierson Prioleau Virginia Tech 1995-98
Ed Stetz Wake Forest 1969-71


All-Time Miami Hurricanes ACC Legends

Name Position Year of Induction
Ted Hendricks Defensive End 2012
Jim Otto Center 2011
Cortez Kennedy Defensive Tackle 2010
Vinny Testaverde Quarterback 2009
Russell Maryland Defensive Tackle 2008
Jim Kelly Quarterback 2007
Gino Torretta Quarterback 2006
George Mira Quarterback 2005