Hur Winter Gear

Lineikite Falls at Riviera Championships

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 10/03/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
RELATED LINKS

PACIFIC PALISADES, Calif.  - Miami's Lina Lileikite fell to the nation's 37th-ranked player in the final round of qualifying at the 28th Annual Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships at the Riviera Tennis Club on Tuesday.

The Hurricane sophomore fell to Georgia's Maho Kowase, 6-4, 6-2.

"Lina lost against a very talented and experienced player," said assistant women's tennis coach Alex Santos. "She had her chances in the first set, but I feel that she took valuable lesson from her first All-American Championship experience.

"She will continue to improve and she is leaving California as a more complete tennis player."

In their qualifying doubles backdraw, Melissa Bolivar joined Lileikite to defeat the Weinreich/Weinstein tandem from Nebraska, 8-5.

"I felt that we were definitely more aggressive in our approach to the match," Santos said. "In the beginning there was an adaptation period but as soon as we found our offensive rythym, we were very effective.

"I was proud the way Melissa carried herself in the tennis court and the energy she provided. If she is able to keep that energy, she will set herself up for a quality season."

The Canes will return to the court on Oct. 12 when the will play host at the Miami Invite at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center.

Schedule
 
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola