Uploaded Ad
Hur Winter Gear

Stracar Wins Miami Invite Championship

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 10/14/2012
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla.  - For the second straight day, rain wreaked havoc on the Miami Invite schedule at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center.

Once again, morning showers washed out the two doubles brackets. However, all but one singles match was played to completion. Miami's Nicolle Stracar and Lina Lileikite competed in the finals of the Orange and Green brackets, respectively.

"This weekend did exactly what we needed it to do," Miami women's tennis coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews said. "We pushed our player's to their limits physically, some responded well and other need to do a better job." 

Stracar, a junior transfer from Wisconsin, won her match easily over USF's Paula Montoya, 6-2, 6-4. In the Green final, Lileikite forced a third set, but fell to USF's Loreta Alonso Martinez, 6-3, 4-6, 6-1.

Melissa Bolivar (7-5, 6-0) and Brittany Dubins (6-3, 6-1) won their fifth-place matches over USF's Fanny Fracassi and UNF's Taylor Hollander, respectively.  

"To be successful we need to sustain a higher level for a longer period of time," Yaroshuk-Tews added. "I'm confident that these kids understand the big picture and will collectively respond in a positive manner."

The Hurricanes are next scheduled to compete in the 2012 USTA/ITA Regional Championships held this season at USF in Tampa Oct. 19.
Schedule
 
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola