Uploaded Ad

Baseball America Ranks Incoming Class No. 10

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 10/26/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- In its annual breakdown of the country's top recruiting classes, Baseball America rated the Miami Hurricanes' 13-member group as the 10th-best incoming class in the nation.

The publication's rankings were the second to recognize the Hurricanes' 2012 class, comprised of 11 true freshmen, one redshirt freshman and one junior. Collegiate Baseball newspaper rated the Hurricanes' 2012 class the ninth-best in the nation in its annual rankings released in late September.

It was the first time the Hurricanes had a group ranked in the top 10 by Baseball America since 2006, as Miami was recognized with the second-highest rated recruiting class in the Atlantic Coast Conference (North Carolina, No. 5).

Four of the 13 newest Hurricanes were selected in June's 2012 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft: Grant Heyman (11th round, Toronto Blue Jays), Brandon Lopez (34th round, Toronto Blue Jays) and David Thompson (38th round, New York Yankees). Another newcomer, righthanded pitcher Jace Herrera, was selected in the 36th round of the 2011 First-Year Player Draft by the Boston Red Sox.

All fall practices at Alex Rodriguez Park at Mark Light Field, held every Monday through Saturday until Nov. 17, are open to the public. Practices are set to begin each day at 2:30 p.m.

To read the complete write-up from Baseball America's Aaron Fitt, click HERE.

Schedule
 
Monday, April 21
Baseball vs. Notre Dame
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23
Baseball at FAU
Boca Raton, Fla.
6:30 PM
Friday, April 25
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
6:30 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Saturday, April 26
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
7:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Sunday, April 27
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Friday, May 02
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, May 03
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Sunday, May 04
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 07
Baseball vs. Florida Gulf Coast
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Friday, May 09
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
6:00 PM
Saturday, May 10
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
1:00 PM
Sunday, May 11
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
12:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
RSN
Thursday, May 15
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
Friday, May 16
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
Saturday, May 17
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
12:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola
Nike