Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 11/30/2012
Print RSS
Hall of Fame Hurricanes: Russell Maryland

"Hall of Fame Canes" will highlight Hurricanes enshrined in the #HOF in preparation for Jimmy Johnson's College Football Hall of Fame induction, along with the rest of the Class of 2012, on Tuesday, Dec. 4. Meet today's Hall of Fame Hurricane...

Russell Maryland
College Football HOF, 2011

Russell Maryland was a member of Miami's 1987 and 1989 National Championship teams, but his most prolific work came as a senior in 1990. During his final season with the Canes, he recorded 96 tackles (54 solo), including 10.5 quarterback sacks, seven tackles for losses and 19 quarterback pressures. He also forced five fumbles and broke up two passes. 

As a result, he became the first Hurricane to win the 1990 Outland Trophy, given to the best defensive lineman in college football. He was also a unanimous All-America selection and named the United International Press Lineman of the Year.

The defensive tackle's best game came in the 1991 Cotton Bowl against the University of Texas. He recorded three sacks for a loss of 28 yards and nine tackles, while the Hurricanes' defense caused five Longhorn turnovers, each leading to UM touchdowns. The 46-3 Miami victory remains the largest point differential in Cotton Bowl history.

Maryland finished his college career with 279 tackles, 25 tackles for losses and 20.5 quarterback sacks. He was the Jack Harding Most Valuable Player Award winner in 1990 and led the Hurricanes to four consecutive bowl berths, two national championships and an overall record of 45-3-0 during his career.

In the 1991 NFL Draft, Maryland was selected as the first overall pick by the Dallas Cowboys. He was a Pro Bowl selection in 1993 and won three Super Bowls with the Cowboys in 1992, '93 and '95. He played professionally for nine years with the Cowboys (1991-95), Oakland Raiders (1996-99) and Green Bay Packers (2000).