Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 12/03/2012
Print RSS
Hall of Fame Hurricanes: Ted Hendricks

"Hall of Fame Canes" will highlight Hurricanes enshrined in the #HOF in preparation for Jimmy Johnson's College Football Hall of Fame induction, along with the rest of the Class of 2012, on Tuesday, Dec. 4. Meet today's Hall of Fame Hurricane...

Ted Hendricks
College Football HOF, 1987

Ted Hendricks, known as the "Mad Stork" for his tall (6-7), angular build and his dominating defensive play, started three seasons at defensive end for the Miami Hurricanes under coach Charlie Tate.

A three-time All-America for the Hurricanes, he earned consensus, first-team All-America honors in 1967 and 1968, and led Miami to a 20-11-1 record. He ended his collegiate career as Miami's all-time leading tackler with 318 hits in 1968. That year, he was named UPI National Lineman of the Year and finished 5th in the Heisman Trophy balloting.

He went on to a spectacular 15-year NFL career as an outside linebacker playing in 215 consecutive games with the Baltimore Colts, Green Bay Packers, Oakland and L.A Raiders.

During his time in the NFL, he helped lead his teams to four Super Bowl championships, was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection, four times selected as an All-Pro and five times named second-team All-Pro.

Hendricks was inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame in 1987 and was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990. He was named to the NFL's 75th Anniversary All-Time team and to the NFL's All-Decade team of the 1970's.

He was inducted into the University of Miami Hall of Fame in 1980, to its Ring of Honor in 1997 and had his jersey number-number 89-retired, also in 1997. His philanthropic foundation-The Ted Hendricks Foundation--with goals aimed at providing assistance to local and national charities through awards, grants and scholarship programs aimed at recreational, health and educational programs for both youth and seniors, also sponsors the Ted Hendricks Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top defensive end, but which also considers in the selection process academic and community excellence.