Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 12/05/2012
Print RSS
Johnson Named Coaches ACC Rookie of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. - University of Miami freshman Duke Johnson was named both the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year by the league's 12 head coaches, announced Wednesday by the conference office.

For the first time under the auspices of the ACC, the league's 12 head coaches voted for an All-ACC football team, as well as Players of the Year, Rookies of the Year and a Coach of the Year award. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players; first-team selections were worth two points and second-team one point.

Johnson, who was named the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year by the ACSMA last week, set a single-game ACC freshman standard with 368 all-purpose yards Nov. 10 at Virginia while also placing third in the league with 947 rushing yards and a 78.9 yards-per-game average.

Johnson is the first Hurricane to win the rookie award following a breakout season in which he broke Clinton Portis' 13-year-old school rushing record for freshmen. In 2008, linebacker Sean Spence was named the ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year.

In addition to his rookie honors, Johnson was a second-team All-ACC selection at running back and earned honorable mention as a specialist.

Six other Hurricanes earned All-ACC honorable mention status from the league's coaches. Junior RT Seantrel Henderson, junior RG Brandon Linder and redshirt sophomore C Shane McDermott received honorable mention on offense, while sophomore DE Anthony Chickillo, sophomore LB Denzel Perryman and senior S Vaughn Telemaque earned honorable mention on defense.

Johnson picked up eight votes in both the Overall and Offensive Rookie of the Year voting, finishing five ahead of Maryland WR Stefon Diggs. Redshirt freshman LB Eddie Johnson finished second in the Defensive Rookie of the Year voting with five votes and third in Overall Rookie of the Year voting with one vote.

Head coach Al Golden tied for third in Coach of the Year voting, receiving one vote along with NC State's Tom O'Brien and Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson.

For the latest information on Miami Hurricanes Football, follow @HurricaneSports on Twitter and the official blog for Hurricanes Football,

 2004 Antrel Rolle, DB 1st    2010 Brandon Washington, G 1st
  Chris Myers, T 2nd     Leonard Hankerson, WR 1st
  Roscoe Parrish, WR 2nd     Matt Bosher, P 1st
  Frank Gore, RB 2nd     Orlando Franklin, T 2nd
  Brock Berlin, QB 2nd     Allen Bailey, DL 2nd
 2005 Devin Hester, SP 1st     Brandon Harris, DB 2nd
  Eric Winston, T 1st     Ray-Ray Armstrong, FS 2nd
  Tyrone Moss, RB 1st     Sean Spence, OLB 2nd
  Brandon Meriweather, DB 2nd     Damien Berry, RB 2nd
 2006 Calais Campbell, DE 1st    2011 Sean Spence, LB 1st
  Greg Olsen, TE 1st     Tyler Horn, C 2nd
 2007 Kenny Phillips, DB 1st     Lamar Miller, RB 2nd
  Derrick Morse, G 2nd    2012 Duke Johnson, RB - coaches 2nd
 2008 Matt Bosher, P 2nd     Duke Johnson, RB - media 2nd
  Colin McCarthy, LB 2nd     Duke Johnson, SP - media 2nd
  Darryl Sharpton, LB 2nd        
 2009 Matt Bosher, PK 1st        
  Jason Fox, T 1st