Miami Hurricanes vs. NC State Baseball

Baseball Takes Part in Special Exhibition

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 12/08/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- The Miami Hurricanes baseball team took part in a special exhibition Saturday night at Alex Rodriguez Park, facing off against the Wounded Warriors Amputee Softball Team in a seven-inning softball exhibitiion.

The Wounded Warriors are comprised of young, competitive, athletic veterans and active duty soldiers who have lost limbs post-9/11, while serving their country in the military. The team includes individuals with a variety of amputations.  Some are still in the service, others are attending college, and some have moved on to new careers.

The event, which featured personnel across the nation and a flyover from military helicopters in pregame ceremonies, raised money for the Wounded Warriors. Powered by homeruns from Dale Carey, Brad Fieger and Alexander Hernandez, the Hurricanes won the game 25-9.

Saturday's event was the last in a 17-state tour for the visitors. All proceeds from the event were donated to the WWAST. To make a donation to the cause, visit the team's official website by clicking HERE.

 

Schedule
 
Tuesday, March 03
Baseball at Miami Marlins (exhibition)
Jupiter, Fla.
1:05 PM
Wednesday, March 04
Baseball vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 06
Baseball at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
3:00 PM
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Saturday, March 07
Baseball at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Sunday, March 08
Baseball at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Tuesday, March 10
Baseball at FGCU
Fort Myers, Fla.
6:30 PM
Wednesday, March 11
Baseball vs. Stetson
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 13
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, March 14
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Tuesday, March 17
Baseball vs. Army
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
6:00 PM
ESPN3
Saturday, March 21
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
4:00 PM
ESPN3
Sunday, March 22
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
1:00 PM
ESPN3
Wednesday, March 25
Baseball vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola