Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 03/18/2013
Print RSS
All-American Monday - Mike Belkin

Mike Belkin (1965)

Coral Gables, Fla. - Born in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Mike Belkin moved to Miami Beach, Fla. at the age of 15. At the age of 15, Belkin was given a key to the city along with a scholarship to the University of Miami after having become Florida men's champion with victories over Frank Froehling and Gardner Mulloy. As a junior player, Belkin was a three-time champion - back to back Orange Bowl titles and U18 National Junior champion.

Canada Tennis Hall of Fame

In his first and only year as a member of the men's tennis squad, Belkin, who played the entire season out of the No. 1 position, posted an overall singles season record of 18-1. His only loss came at the hands of tennis great Arthur Ashe in the championship round of the 1965 NCAA tournament. In doubles completion, Belkin posted an overall mark of 8-5 but while teamed with John Santrock, together they advanced to the third round of the NCAA tournament. For his success on the court Belkin was named to the 1965 All-America team.

As a professional, Belkin was Canada's No. 1 men's player five times between 1966 and 1972. In 1969, 1970, and 1972, Belkin won the singles title at the Canadian closed championships. In Davis Cup play, he holds an overall record of 17-12, including an amazing 14-7 mark in singles play. He was elected into the Canadian Tennis Hall of Fame in 1994.

SI: A Big Word For A Small Boy


Name Year(s)   Name Year(s)
Mike Belkin 1965 Rod Mandelstam 1962-63
Andrew Burrow 1987 Tavo Martinez 1976
Pat Cramer 1968-70 Jerry Moss 1958-59
Luigi D'Argord 2006-07 Srjdan Muskatirovic 1994-95
Eddie Dibbs 1971-72 Joaquim Rasgado 1974-75
John Donar 1987-90   Raz Reid 1971-72
John Eagleton 1976-77   Ivan Rodrigo 1997
Conny Falk 1989   Mike Russell 1997
Alvaro Fillol 1975   Pancho Segura 1943-45
Jaime Fillol 1967-68   Christo Steyn 1982-83
Luis Garcia 1969-71   Carl Sundberg 2008
John Geraghty 1977   Daniel Vallverdu 2006-09
John Hammill


  Todd Widom 2002-03
Gil Kovalski 1995