Hur Winter Gear

Ninth-Ranked W. Tennis to Open Season at FAU

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 01/10/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
RELATED LINKS

CORAL GABLES, Fla.  - The University of Miami women's tennis team will open its 2013 season on Friday when it travels to FAU in a 1:30 p.m. match at Patch Reef Park in Boca Raton.

The Hurricanes enter the spring ranked No. 9 nationally by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association and are led by three studen't-athletes currently ranked in the nation's Top 100 in singles play, freshman Kelsey Laurente (51), junior Lina Lileikite (57) and freshman Stephanie Wagner (92).

Laurente, Lileikite and Wagner will be joined in the lineup by juniors Melissa Bolivar and Brittany Dubins and freshman Monique Albuquerque and Deborah Suarez.

"I'm excited to see our team compete as a unit," head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews said. "Our players are striking the ball well. We're ready to go!"

Last year, Miami went 21-5 and advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight for the fourth consecutive season. The 20-win season marked the Hurricanes' eighth in the last nine seasons under the direction of Yaroshuk-Tews.

FAU capped last season with 10-8 record, advancing to the Sun Belt Tournament quarterfinals.

The Canes first home match of the season will be against No. 24 Illinois on Sunday at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center.

Schedule
 
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
Friday, May 08
Women's Tennis at NCAA Regionals
TBA
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola