Miami Hurricanes vs. NC State Baseball

Two Hurricanes Named to Team USA WBC Roster

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 01/18/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- The provisional Team USA roster for the 2013 World Baseball Classic was released Thursday, and two former Miami Hurricanes earned the chance to represent their home country.

2011 National League MVP and Milwaukee Brewers' outfielder Ryan Braun was invited for his second consecutive WBC. The former Hurricanes star, who led the National League with 41 homeruns in 2012, was one of only four outfielders selected.

After finishing sixth in Major League Baseball with 39 saves in 2012, two-time All-Star reliever Chris Perez was selected to represent the Red, White and Blue. The Cleveland Indians' closer figures to play a key role for the Team USA bullpen.

For more information on the 2013 World Baseball Classic, click HERE. For the full release on the Team USA roster from MLB.com, click HERE.

Schedule
 
Saturday, March 07
Baseball at Louisville (Game Two)
Louisville, Ky.
TBA
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Baseball at Louisville (Game One)
Louisville, Ky.
12:00 PM
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Sunday, March 08
Baseball at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5 FM
ESPN3
Tuesday, March 10
Baseball at FGCU
Fort Myers, Fla.
6:30 PM
Wednesday, March 11
Baseball vs. Stetson
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 13
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, March 14
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Baseball vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Tuesday, March 17
Baseball vs. Army
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
6:00 PM
ESPN3
Saturday, March 21
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
4:00 PM
ESPN3
Sunday, March 22
Baseball at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
1:00 PM
ESPN3
Wednesday, March 25
Baseball vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, March 27
Baseball at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, N.C.
6:30 PM
ESPN3
Saturday, March 28
Baseball at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, N.C.
3:00 PM
ESPN3
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola