Hur Winter Gear

8th-Seeded W. Tennis Set for ITA Indoors

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 02/06/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships Draw

CORAL GABLES, Fla.  - The 10-ranked University of Miami women's tennis team is set to make its ninth consecutive appearance at the 26th annual ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships in Charlottesville, Va. this weekend.

The Hurricanes (5-0), seeded eighth, open play against No. 17 Nebraska, Friday, Feb. 8 at noon at The Boar's Head Sports Club.

"UVa does such an exceptional job hosting and we are looking forward to a top notch event," said Miami head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews.

The event, the nation's most prestigious indoor team tournament, features 16 teams, including 15 teams currently ranked in the ITA Top 20. Play opens Friday at noon and concludes Monday, Feb. 11 with the championship match.

"We are excited to compete with the best in the country," added Yaroshuk-Tews. "We will definitely be a stronger team at the conclusion of this event than we are today. This tournament simply makes squads tougher and opens their eyes to what May is going to look like."

This year's field includes No. 2 UCLA, No. 3 Duke, No. 4 USC, No.6 Georgia, No. 7 Cal, No. 8 UNC, No. 9 Alabama, No. 11 Texas, No. 12 Virginia, No. 13 Texas A&M, No. 14 Northwestern, No. 15 Baylor, No. 16 Michigan, No. 17 Nebraska and No. 21 Vanderbilt.

Earlier this spring season, the Hurricanes played host to the Miami Spring Invite, and welcomed three teams that will be participating this weekend, Texas, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt. There was no team scoring, as points were determined by wins by position. At the conclusion of the three-day round-robin event, UM came out on top.

For live updates and updated brackets, visit the ITA tournament website.

Schedule
 
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola