Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Hur Winter Gear

Four Named in New ITA Women’s Tennis Rankings

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 02/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

SKILLMAN, N.J.  - The new ITA Women's Tennis rankings have been released and three Hurricanes are recognized in singles play while a duo is ranked in doubles.

Miami's highest ranked singles player is freshman Kelsey Laurente, coming in at No. 52. The Miramar, Fla., native has compiled an 8-2 record so far this spring, is 6-1 in dual matches and is 2-0 against fellow ranked players.

Sophomore Lina Lileikite comes in at No. 92 and another freshman, Clementina Riobueno is ranked for the first time in her collegiate career at No. 104. Riobueno has been impressive in her short time with the Canes. The Barquisimeto, Venezuela product is a perfect 8-0 in dual matches on the season and has proven to be a stalwart on the back end of the lineup.

Lilekite also enters the doubles rankings at No. 42 with her partner, freshman Stephanie Wagner. This past Saturday, the duo defeated UCLA's 16th-ranked squad of Robin Anderson and Skylar Morton. The victory helped the Canes earn the doubles point, the first time on the season that the Bruins were unable to capture that point.

As a team, Miami is ranked 12th in the nation and currently holds a 6-2 record. The Canes will next face in-state foe Florida State in their conference opener at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center on Feb. 23 at 11 a.m.

Schedule
 
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola