Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 02/26/2013
Print RSS
Larkin Named to Player of the Year Watch List
CORAL GABLES, Fla. – University of Miami sophomore point guard Shane Larkin is one of 30 candidates for the 2013 Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year award presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. 

Larkin, who is also a Bob Cousy Award finalist, leads the ACC with 1.9 steals, is fourth in assists (4.8) and 20th in points (12.7) per game in conference play. He was named the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week and ACC Player of the Week on Feb.  4, 2013, after leading the Canes to wins at NC State and against Duke. 

Overall, Larkin averages 13.1 points, 4.3 assists, 4.1 rebounds and 2.1 steals in 36.1 minutes per game for the Canes. He is hitting 47.7 percent from the field and 41.6 percent from long range. 

The top 30 candidates were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances to this point in the 2013 men’s college basketball season. In late March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow down the list to four finalists. The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta. 

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to text their votes for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner.  Voting will open to fans on Monday, March 25.  Naismith Trophy presenting sponsor AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, enabling even more fans to participate. 

“This season has re-defined excellence on the court, as numerous talented players have put themselves in a position to win the prestigious Naismith Trophy,” said Shane Battier, spokesperson for the Naismith Awards and the only men’s player to win both a high school (1997) and college (2001) Naismith Trophy.  “I am excited to see which of these great players emerges down the stretch to win this award and become the newest member of the Naismith Awards family.” 

“For nearly a decade, AT&T has helped honor college basketball’s elite and their amazing performances on the court,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “AT&T enables fans to play a central role in the selection process while bringing them closer to their passion for college basketball.  With such a competitive pool of student-athletes, next month’s voting is sure to be close.”

Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, 73, 74) and Ralph Sampson (181, 82, 83), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and last year’s winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s best player.

For more information, visit 

Top 30 Candidates for 2013 Naismith Men’s Player of the Year Award:

Last Name First Name Class Position School
Bennett Anthony Freshman F UNLV
Berggren Jared Senior F Wisconsin
Burke Trey Sophomore G Michigan
Canaan Isaiah Senior G Murray State
Carter-Williams Michael Sophomore G Syracuse
Clark Ian Senior G Belmont
Clarke Rotnei Senior G Butler
Cooley Jack Senior C Notre Dame
Crabbe Allen Junior G California
Curry Seth Senior G Duke
Dellavedova Matthew Senior G Saint Mary's
Franklin Jamaal Junior G San Diego State
Kilpatrick Sean Junior F Cincinnati
Larkin Shane Sophomore G Miami
McDermott Doug Junior F Creighton
McGruder Rodney Senior G Kansas State
McLemore Ben Freshman G Kansas
Muhammad Shabazz Freshman G UCLA
Muscala Mike Senior C Bucknell
Oladipo Victor Junior G Indiana
Olynyk Kelly Senior C Gonzaga
Paul Brandon Senior G Illinois
Plumlee Mason Senior F Duke
Porter Jr. Otto Sophomore F Georgetown
Smart Marcus Freshman G Oklahoma State
Smith Russ Junior G Louisville
Thomas Deshaun Junior F Ohio State
Withey Jeff Senior C Kansas
Wolters Nate Senior G South Dakota State
Zeller Cody Sophomore F Indiana

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.