Hur Winter Gear

W. Tennis Moves Up to 11 in Latest Rankings

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 03/12/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
RELATED LINKS

SKILLMAN, N.J. - The University of Miami women's tennis team has seen success on the court this season against some of the nation's best teams. On Tuesday the Canes were rewarded when they moved up to No. 11 in the latest ITA rankings.

In the past two weeks, Miami has defeated two ACC teams, Clemson and Georgia Tech, two programs that are currently ranked Nos. 14 and 25, respectively.

In fact, on the season, Miami has defeated seven teams that have been or currently are ranked, including five wins over Top 25 teams.

In the singles rankings, freshmen Kelsey Laurente moved to No. 81 and classmate Clementina Riobueno to No. 116. Breaking into the rankings for the first time is Stephanie Wagner at No. 100.

In doubles, the duo of Wagner and sophomore Lina Lileikite remain in the Top 50, at No. 48.

The Hurricanes next hit the court for a weekend in the Lone Star State, facing No. 39 Texas on March 22 and 36th-ranked Baylor on March 23. They return home on March 27 for a match against Brown.

Schedule
 
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
Friday, May 08
Women's Tennis at NCAA Regionals
TBA
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola