Spring Gear Shop Store
Season Tickets - Home Page
summer heat promo mm

Larraņaga Named Finalist for Naismith COY

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 03/20/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

ATLANTA - Miami head coach Jim Larrañaga was selected as one of the four finalists for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year award.

Larrañaga joins Jim Crews (St. Louis), Mark Few (Gonzaga) and John Thompson III (Georgetown) as finalists for the prestigious award. Voting for the Naismith Award will run from March 25 through April 4. The four finalists will be honored and the 2013 award winner will be announced April 7 at the Naismith Awards Welcome Brunch in Atlanta.

Coach L has already been named the USBWA Henry Iba National Coach of the Year and the ACC Coach of the Year by both the ASCMA and his fellow ACC coaches. Larrañaga is also a finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year award and the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award.

In his second year at Miami, Larrañaga led his team to an overall record of 27-6, the most wins in program history. The Hurricanes, who won both the ACC regular season title and the ACC Tournament, enter the NCAA Championship as a No. 2 seed in the East Region. Miami was ranked as high as No. 2 nationally, defeated No. 1 Duke and hosted five capacity crowds at the BankUnited Center this season - all firsts for the program.

Beyond the victory over Duke, Larrañaga’s Canes picked up a marquee victory over No. 13 Michigan State in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge and defeated North Carolina three times. The 63-year-old guided his Hurricanes to a 15-3 ACC record in the 2012-13 season, earning Miami the top seed in the ACC tournament.

Coach Jim Larrañaga's 2012-13 Awards
• USBWA Henry Iba National Coach of the Year
• Skip Prosser Man of the Year award finalist
• Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year finalist
• Naismith Coach of the Year finalist
• USBWA Coach of the Year - District IV
• ACC Coach of the Year (Coaches)
• ACC Coach of the Year (ASCMA)
• ACC Coach of the Year - Sports Illustrated (Seth Davis)
• ACC Coach of the Year - ESPN (Jason King)
• All-Coaches Teams - First Team - ESPN (Jason King)



NBA Summer league
Buffalo Wild Wings
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola