Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 03/23/2013
Print RSS
NCAA Championship: Miami vs. Illinois

No. 5/t4 Miami vs. Illinois
March 24, 2013  |  8:40 p.m. ET
Austin, Texas  |  Frank Erwin Center

NCAA Bracket

Radio: 560 WQAM 

Twitter: @CanesHoops
Facebook: /MiamiBasketball

Miami in the NCAA Tournament: 5-6

Miami 28-6 (15-3 ACC)
Roster | Coaches | Schedule & Results | Stats | Game Notes | Record Book | Interactive Guide


The Game 
The ACC Champion Miami Hurricanes face No. 7-seed Illinois in the third round of the NCAA Championship on Sunday, March 24 at 8:40 p.m. ET at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin, Texas.

The Series vs. illinois
Miami is 0-1 against Illinois, falling 86-76 on Dec. 28, 1969 in Florida.

The Broadcasts
Catch the game on TBA with Tim Brando (play-by-play), Mike Gminski (analyst) and Otis Livingston (sideline) on the call. Listen to the NCAA Tournament games on Dial Global Sports with Wayne Larrivee (play-by-play) and Reid Gettys (analyst) as well as 560 WQAM Radio with Joe Zagacki (play-by-play) and Josh Darrow (analyst).

The Coach
Head coach Jim Larrañaga is in his 29th season as a head coach and second at Miami. He has a 518-353 overall record and is 48-19 in his second season at Miami.

In the NCAA Tournament 

• Miami is making its 18th postseason appearance in program history and fifth in the last six seasons.
• Miami NCAA Championship seed history: 2 (2013, East), 2 (1999, East), 5 (2002, West), 6 (2000, South), 7 (2008, South) and 11 (1998, South).
• Miami is 5-6 in the NCAA Championships (last appearance in 2008).
• Miami has never advanced past the Sweet 16 round of the NCAA Championship.
• 2013 is Miami’s sixth NCAA tournament berth since 1997 (first appearance was in 1960).
• Coach Jim Larrañaga is making his seventh NCAA tournament appearance - and 14th overall postseason trip - as head coach. He led George Mason to the 2006 Final Four.
• Five different coaches have led Miami to their seven NCAA tournament appearances: Jim Larrañaga (2013), Frank Haith (2008), Perry Clark (2002), Leonard Hamilton (1998, 1999, 2000), Bruce Hale (1960).
• Since Miami last appeared in the NCAA tournament on March 23, 2008, 137 different schools have played at least one game in the big dance.
• Miami is 0-1 against the No. 7 seed after No. 5 UM fell to Tulsa 80-71 in Austin, Texas on March 24, 2000.
• UM is 1-0 against Big Ten teams in the NCAA Tournament after No. 6 Miami defeated No. 3 Ohio State on March 19, 2000 in Nashville, Tenn.

Program History
First Season: 1926
Program Dormant: 1971-1985
All-Time Record: 920-689
Postseason Record: 12-17 (5-6 in NCAA Championship)
NCAA Appearances: 7 (1960, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2008, 2013)
Last NCAA Appearance: 2008 (2nd round)
NIT Appearances: 11 (1961, 1963, 1964, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2012)
Last NIT Appearance: 2012 (2nd round)

Quick Hits
• Miami is 4-2 in neutral site games this season with three wins at the ACC Tournament and a pair of losses at the Hawai’ian Airlines Diamond Head Classic in Honolulu.
• Miami is one of 23 schools to send both the men’s and women’s basketball teams to the dance this season. The Miami women earned a No. 8 seed and will face No. 9 Iowa in Iowa City on Sunday, March 24. Both UM teams also played in the tournament at the same time in 1998.
• In Miami’s last tournament appearance, Jack McClinton posted a UM single-game NCAA tournament record 38 points, hitting 12-of-19 shots against St. Mary’s on March 21, 2008 in the first round.
• Julian Gamble and Kenny Kadji have both been to the NCAA tournament, both as redshirts in 2008; Gamble with Miami and Kadji with Florida.
• These are UM’s first games played west of the Mississippi River, on the continental U.S., in Coach L’s two seasons at The U. This season the farthest west was in Ft. Myers, Fla. and last year was the game at Ole Miss. The Canes did play in Hawai’i this season.
• Coach Larrañaga is 6-5 overall in the NCAA Tournament.
• Miami is the first team in ACC history to win regular season and postseason and not get a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Championship.
• Miami is the only non-North Carolina team to win both the ACC regular-season and tournament since Georgia Tech in 1985. Their regular season was shared; no other non-North Carolina team has won outright.

Canes Advance to Round of 32
With the 78-49 win over Pacific, Miami recorded its first NCAA tournament victory since a 78-64 win over Saint Mary’s in the 2008 NCAA tournament. The Canes advance to the Round of 32 for the fourth time in the NCAA tournament modern era (1999, 2000, 2008, 2013). UM improved to 5-6 all-time in seven NCAA tournament appearances. Miami is now 2-0 against the No. 15 seed with wins over Lafayette (1999) and Pacific (2013).

Scott, larkin, johnson Lead Balanced Attack
Senior Durand Scott led the Canes with 21 points, Reggie Johnson grabbed 10 rebounds and Shane Larkin posted nine assists against Pacific, as UM was balanced in the second-round victory. All nine Canes who played more than five minutes scored at least five points and grabbed at least two rebounds. Five players recorded a steal and four had an assist. UM hit 85.7 percent from the free throw line with seven players hitting a free shot. Five guys hit a three-pointer in the game, as well.

Canes in the Postseason
In four postseason games, Shane Larkin, Durand Scott and Trey McKinney Jones are all averaging 10+ points, have hit 10 3-pointers and are shooting better than 80 percent at the line. Larkin is averaging 20.3 ppg, 6.0 apg, 4.5 rpg and 2.5 spg, hitting 47.2 percent FG and 91.3 percent FT. He has hit 21-straight free throws, dating back to the game against NC State on March 16. Scott has scored 17.0 ppg in four postseason games, hitting 10-19 (52.6%) from distance, 53.5 percent FG and 92.3 percent FT. He has notched 32 points (vs. NC State) and 21 points (vs. Pacific). McKinney Jones is 10-20 from three, averaging 10.8 ppg, along with 4.0 rpg. He’s hitting 83.3 percent at the line and 43.8 percent from the field.

Larkin A Cousy, Naismith & Wooden Finalist
Shane Larkin is a Bob Cousy Award finalist, listing the sophomore as one of the top five point guards in the nation. Out of the five finalists (Marcus Smart, Matthew Dellavedova, Michael Carter-Williams and Trey Burke) Larkin is the only player to win the regular season conference title, the conference tournament title and conference tournament MVP honors.
Larkin was added to the Naismith watch list in late February, placing him in the top 30 players in the country and is on the John R. Wooden Award Ballot, made up of 15 student-athletes who are eligible for college basketball’s most prestigious honor.