Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 04/01/2013
Print RSS
Larkin Named John R. Wooden All-American

LOS ANGELES - University of Miami sophomore guard Shane Larkin was one of 10 players named to the 2013 John R. Wooden Award All-American Team announced Monday by The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the ESPNU show, Katz Korner.

“It is a blessing to be chosen for such prestigious all American teams,” said Larkin. “I want to thank my teammates for going out there each game and battling with me, and thank the coaching staff for putting me in the situations to be successful. Without them nothing we as a team or I, individually, have accomplished, is possible. So this recognition is for all of us.”

Selected by hundreds of college basketball media members and experts from throughout the country, the All-American team is made up of 10 student-athletes, who received the most votes, with voters ranking the players from 1-10. All players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA, an important component of the Award insisted upon by Coach Wooden.

Larkin, a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, was named second-team All-America by both the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) last week and AP this week. Larkin, a Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American, led the Hurricanes in scoring (14.5), assists (4.6) and steals (1.9). The 2013 ACC Player of the Year was also named to the All-ACC Defensive Team by the league's coaches and ASCMA.

The John R. Wooden Award Men's Player of the Year presented by Wendy's will be announced on ESPN during the Final Four Weekend in Atlanta. The 2013 Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy's will take place April 11-13 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Danny Manning (’88), TJ Ford (’03), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Kevin Durant (’09) and Maya Moore (’09 and ‘11). Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis won the men’s Award in 2012.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Gala.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to or going to the Wooden Award Facebook page. For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact the Wooden Award staff at 213-630-5206 or via email at

2012-13 John R. Wooden Award All-American Team
Trey Burke 6-0 So. G Michigan
Shane Larkin 5-11 So. G Miami
Doug McDermott 6-8 Jr. F Creighton
Ben McLemore 6-5 RFr. G Kansas
Victor Oladipo 6-5 Jr. G Indiana
Kelly Olynyk 7-0 RJr. F Gonzaga
Mason Plumlee 6-10 Sr. F Duke
Otto Porter Jr. 6-8 So. F Georgetown
Deshaun Thomas 6-7 Jr. F Ohio State
Cody Zeller 7-0 So. F Indiana