Holiday Sales
MBB CanesTix
Savanah Senior CLASS Award

Coach Ableman, McCormack Earn Top ACC Honors

          Release: 04/04/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

GREENSBORO, N.C -- The Atlantic Coast Conference honored 10 individuals as recipients of the 2013 ACC Swimming & Diving awards Thursday, and head diving coach Randy Ableman and sophomore diver Kara McCormack were among those recognized. The winners were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

After earning All-America honors at the recent NCAA Division I Swimming & Diving Championship in Indianapolis, McCormack was named ACC Women’s Diver of the Year Thursday. McCormack's selection marks the fifth season in the nine-year history of the award that a University of Miami student-athlete has been chosen for the honor. 

After punching her ticket to NCAA's with a top finish in the platform at Zone B qualifying, McCormack scored 284.95 in preliminaries to earn a spot in the finals. McCormack earned All-America honors for the second straight season by totaling 286.20 in the final round of competition.

McCormack captured 17 points during the three-day event, taking a sixth-place finish on the platform and 13th on the 1-meter.  A sophomore from Texas, McCormack won the conference title on the platform to qualify for NCAA's, and finished third in the 1-meter and seventh in the 3-meter at the ACC Championship.

Ableman, named Women’s Diving Coach of the Year, led the program to 36 points at the NCAA Championship. Three Hurricanes – Carrie Dragland, Lindsay Lester, and McCormack – garnered All-America honors, more than any other university in the nation. The trio of divers finished in the top eight of all three diving disciplines at the ACC Championships, earning a combined 140 points.

Ableman, who coached the South African diving team at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, served on the U.S. coaching staff for the 1996 (Atlanta), 2000 (Sydney), 2004 (Athens) and 2012 (London) Olympic Games. He is a nine-time NCAA Coach of the Year Award winner.

For the full release from the Atlantic Coast Conference, click HERE.

Thursday, December 04
Swimming and Diving at US Swimming Nationals
Greensboro, N.C.
All Day
Tuesday, December 16
Swimming and Diving at US Diving Nationals
Columbus, Ohio
All Day
Saturday, January 10
Swimming and Diving vs. Rutgers / Tulane
Coral Gables, Fla.
12:00 PM
Saturday, January 24
Swimming and Diving at Virginia Tech / Georgia Tech / UNC-Wilmington
Blacksburg, Va.
11:00 AM
Saturday, January 31
Swimming and Diving vs. FIU
Coral Gables, Fla.
12:00 PM
Wednesday, February 18
Swimming and Diving at Day One
Atlanta, Ga.
All Day
Thursday, February 19
Swimming and Diving at Day Two
Atlanta, Ga.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Swimming and Diving at Day Three
Greensboro, N.C.
All Day
Saturday, February 21
Swimming and Diving at Day Four
Atlanta, Ga.
All Day
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola