Uploaded Ad

Nedeljkovic Stopper of the Year Candidate

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 04/24/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo -- Senior closer Eric Nedeljkovic was among the 51 players named to the mid-season watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

Nedeljkovic, tied for the Atlantic Coast Conference lead with nine saves this season, has been dominant out of the bullpen. In 19 appearances spanning 20.2 innings, Nedeljkovic has allowed just two earned runs, good for a miniscule ERA of 0.87.

The Folsom, Calif., who boasts a 2-1 individual record, has struck out 24 batters compared to only two walks, and has allowed just fourteen hits on the season. Opponents are hitting a measly .187 against the righthander in 2013.

Nedeljkovic, who transferred to Miami after two seasons at Sierra College, was a key contributor in his first season as a Hurricane in 2012. He split late-season closer duties with AJ Salcines, and finished third on the team with four saves, recording a 1.78 ERA for the season.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series. 

Schedule
 
Sunday, April 20
Baseball vs. Notre Dame
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Monday, April 21
Baseball vs. Notre Dame
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23
Baseball at FAU
Boca Raton, Fla.
6:30 PM
Friday, April 25
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
6:30 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Saturday, April 26
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
7:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Sunday, April 27
Baseball at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
1:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
CSS / ESPN3
Friday, May 02
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Saturday, May 03
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Sunday, May 04
Baseball vs. Alabama State
Coral Gables, Fla.
1:00 PM
Wednesday, May 07
Baseball vs. Florida Gulf Coast
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:00 PM
Friday, May 09
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
6:00 PM
Saturday, May 10
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
1:00 PM
Sunday, May 11
Baseball at Duke
Durham, N.C.
12:00 PM
WVUM 90.5
RSN
Thursday, May 15
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
Friday, May 16
Baseball vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
7:30 PM
560 WQAM
CSS / ESPN3
Tickets Live Stats
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola
Nike