Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 04/24/2013
Print RSS
Stephanie Wagner Named to All-ACC Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The University of Miami's Stephanie Wagner has been selected as a member of the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Tennis Team, as announced Wednesday by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

"What an honor to earn your freshman year," said Miami head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews. "Stephanie has huge potential and I’m excited for her future at UM."

In her freshman season, Wagner compiled a 19-6 regular season record and after she moved to the No. 1 singles spot, the Amberg, Germany native won eight of her first nine matches. Wagner rose to a season-best ranking of No. 53.

Partnered with sophomore Lina Lileikite, Wagner went 13-7 in doubles play and reached a season-best ranking of 31. The win total tied the duo with Monique Albuquerque and Clementina for the most doubles win on the team.

Last season, then Miami seniors Anna Bartenstein and Gabriela Mejia were named to the All-ACC squad.

The Canes enter this weekend's ACC Championships as a No. 4 seed, earning a first-round bye, and will face the winner of the No. 5 seed Georgia Tech/No. 11 seed Maryland match on Friday at 12 p.m. from the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C.

“We are ready to make a statement at the tournament,” said Yaroshuk-Tews. “I really believe we are peaking at the right time and are fresh and ready to go.”

For more information on the ACC Women’s Tennis Championship, click here.

2013 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Tennis Team

Name Class School
Alex Kelleher Senior Boston College
Beatrice Gumulya Sophomore Clemson
Liz Jeukeng Freshman Clemson
Yana Koroleva Sophomore Clemson
Ester Goldfeld Sophomore Duke**
Mary Clayton Senior Duke
Hanna Mar Junior Duke**
Daneika Borthwick Sophomore Florida State
Kendal Woodard Freshman Georgia Tech
Vroni Van Berlo Senior Maryland
Stephanie Wagner Freshman Miami
Zoe De Bruycker Senior North Carolina***
Gina Suarez-Malaguti Senior North Carolina
Caroline Price Sophomore North Carolina
Joelle Kissell Junior NC State**
Julia Elbaba Freshman Virginia
Stephanie Nauta Freshman Virginia
Ilinca Stoica Freshman Virginia Tech
Kathryn Talbert Senior Wake Forest

# an extra member was added to the team due to a tie in voting.

Player of the Year - Gina Suarez-Malaguti, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year -Julia Elbaba, Virginia

Coach of the Year - Brian Kalbas, North Carolina

** - Two-time All-ACC Selection
*** - Three-time honoree