Uploaded Ad
MBB CanesTix
MBB CanesTix

W. Tennis to Face GT in ACC Quarterfinals

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 04/25/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
RELATED LINKS

CARY, N.C. – The University of Miami women’s tennis team, ranked 10th nationally and a No. 4 seed in the ACC Championship, will face Georgia Tech in the conference quarterfinal Friday at noon at the Cary Tennis Park.

Georgia Tech defeated Maryland, 4-0, in the first round of the tournament on Thursday for the opportunity to play Miami in the quarterfinals. The Yellow Jackets are ranked 22nd in the nation and improved their record to 14-8 on the season after their win over the Terrapins.

The Hurricanes (17-5) faced the Yellow Jackets on March 9 when UM traveled to Atlanta. The Canes came away with a 6-1 victory.

Miami is led by two ranked freshmen, No. 60 Stephanie Wagner and No. 91 Kelsey Laurente. Just two days ago, Wagner was named to the All-ACC Women’s Tennis Team. The Amberg, Germany native is also a part of the 40th-ranked doubles team, along with sophomore Lina Lileikite.

Junior Melissa Bolivar and another freshman, Clementina Riobuneo are ranked 85th in doubles in the latest ITA rankings.

For more information on the ACC Women’s Tennis Championship, click here.

Schedule
 
Friday, January 16
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Saturday, January 17
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Sunday, January 18
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Friday, January 23
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Saturday, January 24
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Sunday, January 25
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola