Uploaded Ad
MBB CanesTix
MBB CanesTix

Wagner Falls in NCAA Singles Second Round

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 05/23/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
RELATED LINKS

URBANA, Ill. – The University of Miami’s Stephanie Wagner fell in her second round match to Texas’ Breaunna Addison, 6-2, 6-2, Thursday morning at the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Singles Championship at Illinois’ Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex.

Wagner, an All-ACC Team member, dropped her first set to Addison, 6-2, but built a 2-1 lead in the second set. However, Addison, the nation’s 31st-ranked singles player was able to close out the match by winning the next five games.

“Steffie had a tough day,” Miami head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews said. “But, her freshman season was one to be extremely proud of. This young lady is a star in the making.

“We need experience to grow and she gained that this year. I am proud of her efforts and could not be more excited to have her in this program for the long haul.”

Wagner’s ends her freshman campaign with a spring record of 22-9. For her outstanding play this season, the nation’s 60th-ranked player was recently named the ITA Southeast Rookie of the season.

Addison also a freshman, advances to the Round of 16 where she will face the winner of the Jacqueline Cako (Arizona State)/Kata Szekely (Tennessee) match.

Schedule
 
Friday, January 16
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Saturday, January 17
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Sunday, January 18
Women's Tennis vs. Miami Spring Invite
Coral Gables, Fla.
All Day
Friday, January 23
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Saturday, January 24
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Sunday, January 25
Women's Tennis vs. ITA National Indoor Kick-Off Weekend
Coral Gables, Fla.
TBA
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola