Spring Game
summer heat promo mm

Morris Named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 07/17/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
FORT WORTH, Texas – Miami Hurricanes senior Stephen Morris was one of 34 quarterbacks named to the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List announced Wednesday.

Morris is one of four ACC signal-callers on the list, joining Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Bryn Renner (UNC) and Logan Thomas (Virginia Tech).

Morris, who won the skills competition at the Manning Passing Academy last week, started all 12 games under center a season ago, throwing for a career-best 3,345 yards and 21 touchdowns. His 3,345 passing yards in 2012 were the fifth-most in program history, while his 3,415 yards of total offense set a new single-season mark at Miami. He also became the first QB in Miami Hurricanes history to post multiple 400-yard passing games in a single season.

Two Miami quarterbacks have won the Davey O’Brien Award – Vinny Testaverde (1986) and Gino Torretta (1992). Miami is one of eight schools with multiple Davey O’Brien Award winners.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Mon., Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Mon., Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced Thu., Dec. 12, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Season tickets for the 2013 football season are on sale now for as low as $98. To purchase season tickets, call the UM Athletic Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 or buy online at www.CanesTix.com.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @MiamiHurricanes, and check out the official football blog, www.theufootball.com.

Paul Hornung Award Duke Johnson
Maxwell Award Duke Johnson
  Stephen Morris
John Mackey Award Clive Walford
Rimington Trophy Shane McDermott
Ray Guy Award Pat O'Donnell
Outland Trophy Brandon Linder
Biletnikoff Award Phillip Dorsett
Davey O'Brien Award Stephen Morris
Saturday, September 05
Football vs. Bethune-Cookman
Miami Gardens, Fla.
6:00 PM
Friday, September 11
Football at FAU
Boca Raton, Fla.
8:00 PM
Saturday, September 19
Football vs. Nebraska
Miami Gardens, Fla.
3:30 PM
Buffalo Wild Wings
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola