Hur Winter Gear

Doubles Duo Cruises Into Quarterfinals

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 08/12/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – In the second day of the 2013 ITA National Collegiate Summer Championships, the fourth-seeded doubles team of Clementina Riobueno and Kelsey Laurente played its way into the third round.

The pair of University of Miami women’s tennis players opened up the doubles end of the tournament with a thrilling 8-5 win over Vanderbilt’s Sydney Campbell and Oklahoma State’s Karyn Guttormsen.

Hours later, Riobueno and Laurente handled their second round opponents Jasmine Minor of Oregon and Nicole Flower of Ohio State by a score of 9-7.  

The success of the doubles team came just hours after both Laurente and Riobueno were bumped out of singles in the fourth round.

"Clemen and Kelsey are both disappointed in losing such tight matches,” head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews said.  “They are excited to keep it going in doubles and working hard to bring back the title.”

After getting by third round opponent Maddie Kobelt early Sunday morning, Laurente fell to Rebecca Shine 7-5, 2-6, 1-0 (7).

Similarly, Riobueno also took care of business in the third round, beating Katya Vasilyev 6-2, 3-6, 1-0 (3) before being tripped up by Julia Fellerhoff 7-6, 7-5 in the fourth round.

The Miami doubles duo will play in the quarterfinals of the doubles championship on Monday at 10:30 a.m. against Katie Klyczek Alecia Kauss of Indiana University.

For a look at the updated doubles tournament bracket, click here.

Schedule
 
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
11:00 AM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
Friday, May 08
Women's Tennis at NCAA Regionals
TBA
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola