Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 09/25/2013
Print RSS
Edge Named to 2013 ACC Football Legends Class

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Former Miami Hurricanes running back Edgerrin James is one of 15 standouts named to the 2013 ACC Football Legends Class, the conference announced Wednesday. James will be recognized at Miami’s Nov. 23 home finale vs. Virginia.

The Legends Class will be honored during this year’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend. They will be honored Dec. 6 at the ACC Night of Legends sponsored by the Belk Bowl and during ceremonies at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium for the 9th Annual ACC Football Championship, with will be nationally televised Dec. 7 at either 7:45 p.m. ET (ESPN) or 8 p.m. ET (ABC). Tickets for the Night of Legends are $85 each and are available here.

James joins a prominent list that includes four members of the College Football Hall of Fame and two members of the ACC 50th Anniversary Team. The 2013 class includes: Boston College RB Mike Cloud, Clemson S Terry Kinard, Duke HB/E Wes Chesson, Florida State G Jamie Dukes, Georgia Tech TB Robert Lavette, Maryland QB Boomer Esiason, North Carolina FB Ken Willard, NC State twins Dave (QB) and Don (WR) Buckley, Pittsburgh head coach Johnny Majors, Syracuse HB Floyd Little, Virginia DE Tom Scott, Virginia Tech WR Andre Davis and Wake Forest QB Jay Venuto.

The group of 15 former gridiron standouts from current ACC schools includes a former ACC Football Player of the Year; 10 former All-Americas, including six first-team All-America honorees; and 12 players who combined for 97 years in the NFL. Twelve of the Legends were drafted into the NFL, including six first- or second-round draft choices.

In all, the collection of players combined for two national championships, five ACC Championships and one Super Bowl title.

An explosive runner who averaged 6.2 yards per carry throughout his career, James is one of the most successful running backs in Miami history. Though he played just three seasons in college, James totaled 2,960 yards and still has the top two single-game rushing days in school history. He ran for a school-record 299 yards against UCLA in 1998 and for 271 yards against Boston College in 1997.  He is the only running back in school history to post multiple 1,000-yard seasons and helped the Canes compile a 23-12 mark, while earning two bowl berths.

The fourth overall selection in the 1999 NFL Draft by Indianapolis, he played 11 seasons in the NFL, including his first seven with the Colts. He was named to the NFL Pro Bowl four times. He was named the 1999 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year by the AP and claimed the NFL rushing title in each of his first two seasons in the league. After leaving Indianapolis, he played three seasons with Arizona, leading the Cardinals to Super Bowl XLIII. He completed his professional career with Seattle in 2009, accumulating 12,246 career rushing yards and 80 touchdowns. He was named to the NFL All-Decade Team for the 2000s. Originally from Immokalee, Fla., James now resides in Miami.

Mike Cloud, RB Boston College, 1995-98 Portsmouth, R.I. (Rockwell, Texas)
Terry Kinard, S Clemson, 1979-82 Sumter, S.C. (Hilton Head Island, S.C.)
Wes Chesson, HB/E Duke, 1968-70 Edenton, N.C. (Raleigh, N.C.)
Jamie Dukes, G Florida State, 1982-85 Orlando, Fla. (Atlanta, Ga.)
Robert Lavette, TB Georgia Tech, 1981-84 Cartersville, Ga. (Austell, Ga.)
Boomer Esiason, QB Maryland, 1981-83 East Islip, N.Y. (Plandome, N.Y.)
Edgerrin James, RB Miami, 1996-98 Immokalee, Fla. (Miami, Fla.)
Ken Willard, FB North Carolina, 1962-64   Richmond, Va. (Midlothian, Va.)
Dave Buckey, QB NC State, 1972-75 Akron, Ohio (Raleigh, N.C.)
Don Buckey, WR NC State, 1972-75 Akron, Ohio (Raleigh, N.C.)
Johnny Majors, Head Coach Pittsburgh, 1973-76; 1993-96 Lynchburg, Tenn. (Knoxville, Tenn.)
Floyd Little, HB Syracuse, 1964-66 New Haven, Conn. (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Tom Scott, DE Virginia, 1950-52 Baltimore, Md. (Charlottesville, Va.)
Andre Davis, WR Virginia Tech, 1998-2001 Niskayuna, N.Y. (Myrtle Beach, S.C.)
Jay Venuto, QB Wake Forest, 1979-80 Salem, N.J. (Newfield, N.Y.)
George Mira Quarterback 2005
Gino Torretta Quarterback 2006
Jim Kelly Quarterback 2007
Russell Maryland Defensive Tackle 2008
Vinny Testaverde Quarterback 2009
Cortez Kennedy Defensive Tackle 2010
Jim Otto Center 2011
Ted Hendricks Defensive End 2012
Edgerrin James Running Back 2013

Did you miss the opportunity to become a Canes season ticket holder? You have a second chance; pick up a great seat to Miami's remaining five games at pro-rated prices. Prices start at just $80 for 400 level seats or only $130 for 100 level seating. Click here to order seats online now. If you prefer to order by phone, call the Hurricane Ticket Office at 305-284-2263 beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Monday.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter, @MiamiHurricanes, and check out the official football blog,