Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Hur Winter Gear

Suarez Finishes 2-1 at Amelia Island Tournament

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 09/25/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

AMELIA ISLAND, Fla. – In the third round of the singles qualifier at the $10,000 Amelia Island tournament, Hurricanes sophomore Deborah Suarez fell 7-5, 6-1 to Elizabeth Kilborn.

Suarez started the match off well—getting out to a 5-3 lead in the first set. However, the former No. 1 Georgia Tech singles player rallied and came back to win set one by a score of 7-5.

"We’re not entirely happy about today's match,” assistant coach Laura Vallverdu said. “But we’re considerably happy about the entire tournament.”

Suarez was never able to get momentum going in the second set, as she managed to win just one game before being put away by Kilborn.

"I believe Deborah got better and is going back home to ‘The U’ as a better tennis player who is hungry for change,” Vallverdu said.

Suarez picked up two wins over the weekend, beating Sarah Baron 6-2, 6-2 in the opening round and Madeline Meredith 6-3, 6-0 on Monday.

Suarez will head back to Coral Gables and begin to prepare for the University of Miami Invite, which takes place at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center on Oct. 11 – Oct. 13.  

Schedule
 
Friday, February 06
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Saturday, February 07
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Sunday, February 08
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Monday, February 09
Women's Tennis at ITA National Team Indoor Championships
Charlottesville, Va.
All Day
Friday, February 20
Women's Tennis vs. FGCU
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola