Hur Winter Gear

Wagner's Run Ends at Regional Championship

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 10/20/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

ATHENS, Ga. –In the final day at the ITA Southeast Regional Championship in Athens, Ga., University of Miami sophomore Stephanie Wagner was eliminated in the quarterfinals of the singles bracket.

The Hurricanes’ 52nd-ranked singles player faced a difficult test in her quarterfinal matchup—Georgia’s 14th-ranked Maho Kowase. The Bulldogs’ senior was able to defeat Wagner in two sets 6-3, 6-4.

Wagner had won three consecutive matches in the tournament to get to the quarterfinals—beating USF’s Fanny Fracassi, Florida State’s Mia Vriens, and Florida’s Stefani Stojic.

Wagner’s fall singles record moves to 12-3 overall and 4-2 against nationally ranked opponents.

The Hurricanes now begin preparations for the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships. The tournament in Indianapolis, Ind. is scheduled to begin Nov. 7. 

 

 

Schedule
 
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola