Uploaded Ad
Hur Winter Gear

Wagner Named ACC Player of the Week

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 02/25/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Miami Hurricanes women’s tennis player Stephanie Wagner was named the ACC’s Female Player of the Week, it was announced Tuesday.

Wagner helped the Hurricanes get off to a 2-0 start in ACC play this past weekend, going a combined 4-0 in singles and doubles against Maryland and No. 22 Notre Dame.

Playing at the No. 2 singles spot on Friday in the ACC opener, Wagner defeated Maryland’s Kristina Hovsepyan in straight sets 6-2, 6-1.

In the No. 3 doubles spot, Wagner and doubles partner Brittany Dubins cruised to an 8-0 win against twins Natalyia Bredikhina and Olga Bredikhina.

Two days later while playing at the No. 1 singles spot against Notre Dame, Wagner soundly defeated No. 119 Britney Sanders 6-3, 6-3.

Wagner and Dubins had little difficulty in doubles, beating Mary Closs and Julie Sabacinski 8-5.

Ranked No. 71 in the latest ITA poll, Wagner has started the spring with a 7-2 singles record with two wins against nationally ranked opponents.

The 20th-ranked Miami Hurricanes get back to action on Friday, Feb. 28 when Boston College comes to town for a dual match at 12 p.m. 

Schedule
 
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola