Hur Winter Gear

W. Tennis Jumps Two Spots in ITA Rankings

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 03/18/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The Miami Hurricanes women’s tennis team moved up two spots to No. 13 in the latest ITA Women’s Tennis rankings released Tuesday.

The Hurricanes are currently riding a seven-match win streak and most recently picked up a win against 17th-ranked Baylor. Currently Miami is currently 11-2 overall and is 6-0 in ACC play.

Two singles players, Kelsey Laurente and Stephanie Wagner, remain in the singles rankings at No. 48 and No. 61, respectively. Dominant at the one and two singles spot, the Canes’ top two singles players a combined 18-4 record.

Miami also has two doubles teams in the rankings. Monique Albuquerque and Clementina Riobueno remained at No. 14 in the nation and Laurente and Melissa Bolivar remained at No. 31. The new individual rankings will not be released for another week.

Doubles has been a strong point for the Miami team this year, registering a 33-7 overall record in doubles matches, including a 17-2 mark from the one and two doubles spots. The doubles teams have performed even better in ACC play, going 14-1 through six matches.

The Hurricanes get back on the court Wednesday for a dual match with the Princeton Tigers. The match is set to start at noon.

Schedule
 
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
Friday, May 08
Women's Tennis at NCAA Regionals
TBA
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola