Mini-Plan Two-Game
Uploaded Ad

NCAA Coral Gables Regional Field Announced

          Release: 05/26/2014
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. -- The University of Miami Hurricanes will host the 25th NCAA Regional in program history beginning this Friday, and will be joined at Alex Rodriguez Park at Mark Light Field by second-seeded Texas Tech, third-seeded Columbia and fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman.

Miami will open its postseason against fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman at 7 p.m. on Fri., May 30 in Game Two of the Coral Gables Regional. Game One - between No. 2 Texas Tech and No. 3 Columbia - will take place at 2 p.m. of the same day.

Miami found out its postseason fate a day early, when the team was selected as one of 16 Regional hosts Sunday night. The Hurricanes, who finished the season with a 41-17 overall record, earned the second ACC Regular Season Championship in program history with a 24-6 record in league play.

The Hurricanes have not missed the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship since 1972 – a stretch of 42 consecutive seasons - and own an all-time record of 117-43 (.731). Miami’s all-time mark in the postseason stands at an impressive 178-91 (.661).

 “It’s a credit to our administration to give us an opportunity to compete at that level, to our players and our coaches to be able to keep that string going,” head coach Jim Morris said of the program’s postseason streak. “It’s an amazing thing.

The Coral Gables Regional has been paired with the Gainesville, Fla., Regional hosted by the University of Florida. The Gainesville Regional includes top-seeded Florida, No. 2 Long Beach State, No. 3 North Carolina and No. 4 College of Charleston.

Miami will open its postseason with fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman, who earned a berth by capturing the 2014 MEAC Championship. The Wildcats finished the regular season with a 26-31 record and a 14-10 record in conference play. Miami split its two games with the Wildcats this spring, falling 7-3 on March 11 and capturing a 10-1 win on April 2.

Second-seeded Texas Tech finished the regular season with a 40-18 overall mark, including a 14-10 record in Big 12 play. The Hurricanes have battled the Red Raiders only once in history, capturing a 13-0 victory on May 23, 1998 in the Coral Gables Regional.

Third-seeded Columbia made its first trip to Coral Gables in 2013, when Miami captured back-to-back wins in a midweek pair with the Lions. The Ivy League champions finished 29-18 and won their conference with a 15-5 league record.

ACC cohorts Florida State (Tallahassee, Fla.) and Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.) were also announced among the 16 Regional hosts on Sunday.  Overall, seven teams from the ACC were included in the field of 64: Miami, Florida State, Virginia, Maryland, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Clemson.

Season-ticket holders have the ability to secure their seat locations for this series. To do so, click here to log into your account, and follow the on-screen instructions.

Hurricane Club members have priority to purchase All-Session tickets before the general public. A limited amount of Reserved Seating is available to Hurricane Club members beginning at Noon on Tuesday, May 27. Priority to purchase tickets will end at 5 p.m. Wednesday or until the Reserved Seating is sold out. After 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Reserved Seating will be sold to the general public, if available.

General Admission seating will be available to the general public on Monday, May 26. Click here for tickets. 

No Events in the Near Future
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Coca Cola