Hur Winter Gear

Signee Ogando Qualifies for Junior Wimbledon

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 06/27/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes women’s tennis signee Yolimar Ogando qualified for the Wimbledon Junior Championships this week after two wins in the qualifying rounds.

A No. 6-seed in the qualifying round, Ogando opened up the 32-player tournament with a straight sets win against Georgia Brescia 7-5, 6-4 and then posted a second round win against Regina Clark 6-3, 7-6(0) to qualify for the championship.

A native of Ponce Puerto Rico, Ogando is currently ranked 84th at the junior level and has posted a 19-9 record this year. In the first round of the Wimbledon Junior Championships, Ogando will face off against No. 24 Katie Boulter of Great Britain.

When she signed with the Hurricanes in the fall, Ogando was ranked the 24th-best player nationally and the No. 2 player in Puerto Rico in the class of 2014, according to the Tennis Recruiting Network’s Babolat recruiting list.

“Yolimar will be a wonderful addition to our program,” head coach Paige Yaroshuk-Tews said after her signing. “She comes to us with a wealth of experience that is only going to grow in the upcoming year.  Her personality will be a great fit with the team and her aspirations match those of our coaching staff.”

Ogando will enroll at Miami in the upcoming fall semester. For more information on the women’s tennis team in the offseason, follow @HurricaneTennis on Twitter and Instagram

Schedule
 
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22
Women's Tennis at ACC Championships
Cary, N.C.
TBA
Friday, May 08
Women's Tennis at NCAA Regionals
TBA
TBA
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola