Uploaded Ad
Hur Winter Gear

Riobueno Wins ITA Summer Circuit Event

Courtesy: Hurricanesports.com
          Release: 07/28/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami Hurricanes women’s tennis player Clementina Riobueno won the ITA Summer Circuit event at the University of Florida this weekend, winning four matches in two days to earn the crown.

Riobueno, a rising junior for the Hurricanes and the top overall seed entering the tournament, opened with a first round bye before winning her next four matches without dropping a set.

On Sunday, Riobueno began her trek to the title with a 6-3, 6-1 win against Taylor Shukow. Hours later, she followed it up with a 6-2, 6-0 win to earn a spot in the semifinals. Against B. Dunn in the semifinal, Riobueno came away with another win in straight sets, earning her spot in the final to be played just a few hours later.

Matched against Alizee Michaud, Riobueno was too much to handle. The Barquisimeto, Venezuela native cruised to a 6-3 win in the opening frame, and out to a 3-0 lead in the second before Michaud was forced to retire. 

For more information on the women’s tennis program during the offseason, follow @HurricaneTennis on Twitter and Instagram

Schedule
 
Friday, February 27
Women's Tennis vs. Wake Forest
Coral Gables, Fla.
4:00 PM
Sunday, March 01
Women's Tennis vs. Clemson
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 06
Women's Tennis at Syracuse
Syracuse, N.Y.
3:00 PM
Sunday, March 08
Women's Tennis at Boston College
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
5:00 PM
Sunday, March 15
Women's Tennis at Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Ga.
10:30 AM
Tuesday, March 17
Women's Tennis at Baylor
Waco, Texas
1:00 PM
Friday, March 20
Women's Tennis vs. NC State
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, March 27
Women's Tennis at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
3:30 PM
Sunday, March 29
Women's Tennis at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Va.
10:00 AM
Thursday, April 02
Women's Tennis vs. Duke
Coral Gables, Fla.
5:00 PM
Saturday, April 04
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
Friday, April 10
Women's Tennis at Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
3:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
Women's Tennis at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
11:00 AM
Saturday, April 18
Women's Tennis vs. Florida State
Coral Gables, Fla.
3:00 PM
Sunday, April 19
Women's Tennis vs. Pittsburgh
Coral Gables, Fla.
11:00 AM
advertisement
Travel
 
Shula's 347 Grill
Casual Eatery
More Info
View More Dining Options
Holiday Inn
Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Book Today
View More Hotel options
Aventura Worldwide
Transportation Service
More Info
Visit Travel Center
Nike
Coca Cola