Baseball Buddies
Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 12/07/2014
Print RSS
Football Accepts Invite to Independence Bowl

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami football team announced Sunday that it has accepted a bid to the 2014 Duck Commander Independence Bowl against the University of South Carolina. The game, slated for a live broadcast on ABC, is set for Dec. 27 at 2:30 p.m. inside Independence Stadium in Shreveport, Louisiana.

Miami’s matchup with South Carolina in the Independence Bowl will mark the 16th all-time meeting between the schools. The Hurricanes have not played against South Carolina since 1987, when Miami topped the Gamecocks 20-16 en route to a National Championship.

“We are thrilled for the opportunity to compete against a program with the tradition and talent of South Carolina,” head coach Al Golden said. “The 2014 Independence Bowl not only provides our program with a great matchup, but it also gives us a tremendous opportunity to improve, gain valuable practice time and postseason experience."

Miami’s appearance in the 2014 Independence Bowl will mark the 38th time the Hurricanes have competed in a bowl game in school history and the second time under Golden. The Hurricanes own a 19-18 overall record in 37 previous bowl games. Miami’s appearance in the Independence Bowl marks the second consecutive season in which Miami has competed in the postseason.

“The University of Miami football program has a proud tradition of competing in bowl games and we are excited to continue that trend this season,” said UM Athletics Director Blake James. “This is a great opportunity for our student-athletes, coaches and fans to compete in the postseason against a great opponent in South Carolina.”

The Hurricanes accepted the bowl invitation after facing the NCAA’s fourth toughest schedule, concluding the year with a 6-6 record. Miami will be searching for its first bowl win since its 21-20 victory over Nevada in the 2006 MPC Computers Bowl in Boise, Idaho.

Miami’s Results in Bowl Games – (19-18 overall)

1933 Palm Festival                    Jan. 1        Manhattan          W              6-0

1934 Palm Festival                    Jan. 1        Duquesne           L               6-33

1935 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Bucknell             L               0-26

1946 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Holy Cross         W              13-6

1951 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Clemson             L               14-15

1952 Gator Bowl                       Jan. 2        Clemson             W              14-0

1961 Liberty Bowl                     Dec. 16      Syracuse            L               14-15

1962 Gotham Bowl                    Dec. 15      Nebraska            L               34-36

1966 Liberty Bowl                     Dec. 10      Virginia Tech      W              14-7

1967 Bluebonnet Bowl               Dec. 23      Colorado             L               21-31

1981 Peach Bowl                       Jan. 2        Virginia Tech      W              20-10

1984 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 2        Nebraska            W              31-30

1985 Fiesta Bowl                       Jan. 1        UCLA                 L               37-39

1986 Sugar Bowl                       Jan. 1        Tennessee          L               6-35

1987 Fiesta Bowl                       Jan. 2        Penn State         L               14-10

1988 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Oklahoma           W              20-14

1989 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 2        Nebraska            W              23-3

1990 Sugar Bowl                       Jan. 1        Alabama             W              33-25

1991 Cotton Bowl                      Jan. 1        Texas                 W              46-3

1992 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Nebraska            W              22-0

1993 Sugar Bowl                       Jan. 1        Alabama             L               13-34

1994 Fiesta Bowl                       Jan. 1        Arizona              L               0-29

1995 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 1        Nebraska            L               17-24

1996 Carquest Bowl                  Dec. 27      Virginia               W              31-21

1998 Micron PC Bowl                Dec. 29      NC State            W              46-23

2000 Gator Bowl                       Jan. 1        Georgia Tech      W              28-13

2001 Sugar Bowl                       Jan. 2        Florida                W              37-20

2002 Rose Bowl                        Jan. 3        Nebraska            W              37-14

2003 Fiesta Bowl                       Jan. 3        Ohio State          L-2OT        24-31

2004 Orange Bowl                     Jan. 2        Florida State       W              16-14

2004 Peach Bowl                       Dec. 31      Florida                W              27-10

2005 Peach Bowl                       Dec. 30      LSU                    L               Mar-40

2006 MPC Computers Bowl       Dec. 31      Nevada               W              21-20

2008 Emerald Bowl                    Dec. 27      Cal                     L               17-24

2009 Champs Sports Bowl         Dec. 29      Wisconsin          L               14-20

2010 Hyundai Sun Bowl             Dec. 31      Notre Dame        L               17-33

2013 Russell Athletic Bowl        Dec. 28      Louisville            L               9-36