Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 12/04/2012
Print RSS
Johnson Inducted into College Football HOF

NEW YORK - Former Miami Hurricanes and two-time Super Bowl-winning head coach Jimmy Johnson was one of 17 former players and coaches inducted Tuesday into the College Football Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony took place at the historic Waldorf-Astoria during the 55th annual National Football Foundation Awards Dinner.

Johnson is the ninth Miami Hurricane inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Jack Harding (1980), Andy Gustafson (1985), Ted Hendricks (1987), Don Bosseler (1990), Bennie Blades (2006), Arnold Tucker (2008), Gino Torretta (2009) and Russell Maryland (2011). He is the third coach from the Hurricanes to be enshrined, joining Harding and Gustafson.

"Having spent the majority of my career in college, this is a tremendous honor," Johnson said during Tuesday morning's press conference. "When I look back … in the entire career, the most fun that I ever had was at the University of Miami.

"This is a tremendous honor and I want to thank everybody for the recognition."

In his five seasons at UM (1984-88), Johnson compiled a 52-9 record and guided the Canes to the 1987 National Championship. That season, Miami went a perfect 12-0 and defeated six nationally ranked teams, including a 20-14 victory over then-No. 1 Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl.

Including his five seasons as the head coach of Oklahoma State, Johnson's career collegiate record stands at 81-34-3. Johnson left Miami after the 1988 season to replace the legendary Tom Landry as head coach of the Dallas Cowboys. His five-year stay in Dallas culminated with back-to-back Super Bowl wins in 1992 and 1993. Johnson is one of just six men to coach consecutive Super Bowl champions.

Also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame were Charles Alexander (LSU), Otis Armstrong (Purdue), Steve Bartkowski (California), Hal Bedsole (Southern California), Dave Casper (Notre Dame), Ty Detmer (BYU), Tommy Kramer (Rice), Art Monk (Syracuse), Greg Myers (Colorado State), Jonathan Ogden (UCLA), Gabe Rivera (Texas Tech), Mark Simoneau (Kansas State), Scott Thomas (Air Force), John Wooten (Colorado), and coaches Phillip Fulmer (Tennessee) and R.C. Slocum (Texas A&M).

For the latest information on Miami Hurricanes Football, follow @HurricaneSports on Twitter and the official blog for Hurricanes Football,