Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 12/06/2012
Print RSS
Johnson Named to Walter Camp All-America Team

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - University of Miami freshman and ACC Rookie of the Year Duke Johnson was named second-team All-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, the organization announced Thursday evening.

Johnson was one of five ACC players named to the first or second Walter Camp teams, while becoming Miami's first Walter Camp All-America selection since OT Eric Winston in 2005. He is also Miami's first major All-America selection since 2005 (Eric Winston, Brandon Meriweather, Kelly Jennings). He was one of only two freshmen named to the Walter Camp team, joining Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel.

The Miami, Fla., product enjoyed one of the greatest freshman seasons in Miami history in 2012, amassing 2,060 all-purpose yards and 13 touchdowns, while breaking Clinton Portis' 13-year-old school freshman rushing record with 947 yards. Johnson ranks third nationally with a 33.0 yards per kick return average, leading the ACC by 4.0 yards per return. His 892 kick return yards were a single-season record and he also tied the school single-season mark with two kick return for touchdowns.

Johnson, who was named second-team All-ACC as well as the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year, set a single-game ACC freshman standard with 368 all-purpose yards Nov. 10 at Virginia, while also placing third in the league with 947 rushing yards and a 78.9 yards-per-game average.

The freshman triple-threat back was named the ACC Rookie of the Week a league-best five times. He was also named third-team All-America as an all-purpose runner by

For the latest information on Miami Hurricanes Football, follow @HurricaneSports on Twitter and the official blog for Hurricanes Football,

 1961  William Miller, E
 1966  Thomas Beier, DB
 1967  Ted Hendricks, DE
 1968  Ted Hendricks, DE
 1981  Lester Williams, DT
 1985  Willie Smith, TE
 1986  Vinny Testaverde, QB
 Jerome Brown, DL
 1987  Daniel Stubbs, DL
 Bennie Blades, DB
 1988  Bill Hawkins, DL
 1990  Russell Maryland, DL
 Maurice Crum, LB
 1991  Carlos Huerta, PK
 Darryl Williams, DB
 1992  Gino Torretta, QB
 Michael Barrow, LB
 Ryan McNeil, DB
 1994  Warren Sapp, DL
 2000  Santana Moss, WR
 Dan Morgan, LB
 2001  Bryant McKinnie, OL
 Ed Reed, DB
 2002  Brett Romberg, C
 Willis McGahee, RB
 Ken Dorsey, QB
 2003  Kellen Winslow II, TE
 Jonathan Vilma, LB
 Sean Taylor, DB
 2004  Devin Hester, KR
 Antrel Rolle, DB
 2005  Eric Winston, OT
 2012  Duke Johnson, KR - second team