Start with VT
4-Game Season Tickets
Back To Football Store
Single-Game Tickets
Field Club
Football mm
Replay Awareness
Football Season Tickets
Published 01/07/2013
Send Mail Print RSS
Duke Johnson Named FWAA Freshman All-American

CORAL GABLES, Fla. - University of Miami freshman and ACC Rookie of the Year Duke Johnson was named to the 2012 Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team, the organization announced Monday.

Johnson is Miami's fifth FWAA Freshman All-America selection and is one of only three ACC players named to the team, joining Florida State DB Ronald Darby and Maryland all-purpose player Stefon Diggs. Prior to Johnson's selection, offensive tackle Seantrel Henderson was Miami’s last Freshman All-America performer in 2010.

He was also a first-team Freshman All-America as a kick returner by Phil Steele and a second-team selection as a running back by and Phil Steele. In December, Johnson became Miami's first All-America performer since 2005, earning second-team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Football Foundation, third-team honors from and honorable mention from Sports Illustrated.

The Miami product enjoyed one of the greatest freshman seasons in Miami history in 2012, amassing 2,060 all-purpose yards and 13 touchdowns, while breaking Clinton Portis' 13-year-old school freshman rushing record with 947 yards. Johnson ranks third nationally with a 33.0 yards per kick return average, leading the ACC by 4.0 yards per return. His 892 kick return yards were a single-season record and he also tied the school single-season mark with two kick return for touchdowns.

Johnson, who was named second-team All-ACC as well as the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year, set a single-game ACC freshman standard with 368 all-purpose yards Nov. 10 at Virginia, while also placing third in the league with 947 rushing yards and a 78.9 yards-per-game average.

For the latest information on Miami Hurricanes Football, follow @HurricaneSports on Twitter and the official blog for Hurricanes Football,

 2001  Vince Wilfork, DL
 2005  Kenny Phillips, DB
 2008  Marcus Forston, DT
 2010  Seantrel Henderson, OT
 2012  Duke Johnson, KR