Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 03/12/2013
Print RSS
Scott ACC Defensive Player of the Year
LEWISVILLE, N.C. – Miami’s Durand Scott has been named as the 2012-13 Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, in voting conducted by members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Scott (1.6 steals per game, 3rd in ACC) received 23 of the 77 votes cast to edge out Hurricane teammate Shane Larkin, who received 21 votes.

Miami head coach Jim Larranaga said, “Durand Scott is one of the greatest competitors I've ever been around and you really see that on the defensive end of the floor. He takes great pride in guarding the other team's best player on the perimeter. He takes great pride in playing harder than anybody else. I am so proud to be able to say that I coached Durand Scott for two years.”

Florida State’s Michael Snaer finished third in the voting with seven votes, while Duke’s Mason Plumlee received six. Jontel Evans of Virginia, Julian Gamble of Miami and NC State’s Richard Howell each received four votes.

Scott is the first player in Miami history to win a conference defensive Player of the Year award. He and Larkin were named to this year's ACC All-Defensive Team. Anthony King is theonly other Hurricane to receive such an honor, earning a spot on the 2004-05 ACC All-Defensive Team.

About the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association
The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

ACC Defensive Player of the Year Voting
Durand Scott, Miami 23 votes
Shane Larkin, Miami 21 votes
Michael Snaer, FSU 7 votes
Mason Plumlee, Duke 6 votes
Jontel Evans, Virginia 4 votes
Julian Gamble, Miami 4 votes
Richard Howell, NC State 4 votes
Akil Mitchell, Virginia 2 votes
6 Players Tied 1 vote

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
2013: Durand Scott, Miami
2012: John Henson, North Carolina
2011: John Henson, North Carolina
2010: Chris Singleton, Florida State
2009: Toney Douglas, Florida State
2008: DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
2007: Jamon Gordon, Virginia Tech
2006: Shelden Williams, Duke