Baseball Buddies
Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 03/12/2013
Print RSS
Larraņaga, Larkin Earn All-District Honors

CORAL GABLES, Fla. - The regular season is over and Miami basketball's trophy case continues to fill up.

Canes point guard Shane Larkin and Miami head coach Jim Larrañaga each received honors from the U.S. Basketball Writers Association on Tuesday.

Larkin was named to one of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's All-District Teams while Larranaga was selected as the District Coach of the Year. The selections are based on voting from the USBWA's national membership of 900-plus. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each.

Larkin is a member of the District IV team which consists of players from schools in Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Florida.

The Orlando, Fla., native has already earned first team All-ACC honors, a spot on the ACC All-Defensive team and third team All-America honors by The Sporting News this year. He also finished second to teammate Durand Scott in the ACC Defensive Player of the Year voting and finished second in ACC Player of the Year voting behind Virginia tech's Erick Green.

Larkin led the Canes in scoring (13.7 ppg), assists (131), steals (59) and 3-point percentage (.403). He recorded a steal in 26 games this season, including 20 straight games from Nov. 13 through Feb. 5. He also made at least one 3-pointer in 26 of his 30 games played this season.

The lightning quick guard played a pivotal role Miami's success this season, starting 29 of Miami's 30 games. Larkin stepped up against the best competition, scoring 18 points in each of Miami's home wins over perennial powers Duke and North Carolina. The sophomore scored in double figures in 24 of his 30 games and scored 20 or more points five times.

Larkin becomes the third Miami player to earn USBWA All-District honors since the 2004-2005 season. Jack McClinton was selected All-District in 2008-09 and Guillermo Diaz earned the distinction twice in his career (2004-05, 2005-06).

Larrañaga was selected the District IV Coach of the Year after leading the Hurricanes to unprecedented success. In his second year at Miami, Larrañaga led Miami to a 24-6 record and the ACC Regular Season Championship. Coach L and the Canes were ranked as high as No. 2 in the country, defeated No. 1 Duke and hosted five capacity crowds at the BankUnited Center this season, all firsts in program history. 

Larrañaga, 63, is in his second season as Miami's 12th head coach. Prior to joining the Hurricanes, Larrañaga spent 14 seasons at George Mason University, where he led the Patriots to the 2006 Final Four. He also spent 11 seasons at Bowling Green and two seasons at American International. In 29 seasons as a head coach, the 1971 Providence College graduate has a career record of 514-353.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
COACH OF THE YEAR: Jim Larrañaga, Miami

Kenny Boynton, Florida
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Shane Larkin, Miami
Jordan McRae, Tennessee
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
Trevor Releford, Alabama
Russ Smith, Louisville