Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 03/12/2013
Print RSS
Coach L Named a Finalist for Prosser Award
BOSTON, Mass. – University of Miami head coach Jim Larrañaga is a finalist for the 2013 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award, announced by on Tuesday.

The Skip Prosser Award was established in 2008 to honor those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach. During his time at Wake Forest, his teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Larrañaga has been named the ACC Coach of the Year by the ASCMA and the USBWA District IV Coach of the Year after leading Miami to the ACC Regular Season Championship. Coach L and the Canes were ranked as high as No. 2 in the country, defeated No. 1 Duke and hosted five capacity crowds at the BankUnited Center this season, all firsts in program history. 

The finalists for the Skip Prosser award include John Beilein (Michigan), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Kermit Davis (Middle Tennessee), Billy Donlon (Wright State), Jim Engles (NJIT), Steve Fisher (San Diego State), John Gallagher (Hartford), Anthony Grant (Alabama), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa), Jim Larrañaga (Miami), Ryan Marks (UT-Pan American), Bob McKilop (Davidson), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell), Brett Reed (Lehigh), Zach Spiker (Army), Bob Thomason (Pacific), John Thompson III (Georgetown), Bruce Weber (Kansas State).

The 2013 recipient will be announced at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

2013 Skip Prosser Award Finalists 
John Beilein - Michigan
Tony Bennett - Virginia
Rick Byrd - Belmont
Kermit Davis - Middle Tennessee
Billy Donlon - Wright State
Jim Engles - NJIT
John Gallagher - Hartford
Anthony Grant - Alabama
Ben Jacobson - Northern Iowa
Jim Larrañaga - Miami
Ryan Marks - UT-Pan American
Bob McKilop - Davidson
Joe Mihalich - Niagara
Jimmy Patsos - Loyola
Dave Paulsen - Bucknell
Brett Reed - Lehigh
Zach Spiker - Army
Bob Thomason - Pacific
John Thompson III - Georgetown
Bruce Weber - Kansas State