Bowl Tickets On Sale Starting at $89
Baseball Buddies
Uploaded Ad
Published 04/04/2013
Print RSS
Larraņaga Named AP Coach of the Year

ATLANTA – Jim Larrañaga, who led Miami to the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and tournament titles and a No. 2 ranking, has been selected The Associated Press' coach of the year.

Larrañaga received 29 votes Thursday from the same 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Jim Crews of Saint Louis got 19 votes and Mark Few of Gonzaga had 11. The voting ended on Selection Sunday.

"I want to thank the players, especially our senior class for the leadership they provided, and our underclassmen for their tremendous energy and intensity and enthusiasm they brought to our program this year," said Larrañaga. 

Larrañaga had a 29-7 record in his second season with the Hurricanes and they were made a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament. He is the first Miami coach to win the award and is the first Atlantic Coast Conference coach to get it since Roy Williams of North Carolina in 2006.

Larrañaga led the Canes to their most successful season in school history, reaching the Sweet 16 for the second time in program history. The Hurricanes were the ACC regular-season champions and then earned the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA tournament by beating North Carolina in the ACC tournament championship game.

The Canes accomplished several program-firsts under Larrañaga’s leadership this season. Besides earning their first-ever ACC regular-season and tournament titles, Miami also beat No. 1 Duke, collecting the Canes’ first-ever win over a top-ranked program.

Larrañaga, who is a Naismith Coach of the Year finalist, saw his Canes collect several marquee wins. Miami beat Michigan State in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge and won a school-record 15 games in conference play, including the victory over Duke and two over North Carolina.

AP Coach of the Year
2013 - Jim Larrañaga, Miami
2012 - Frank Haith, Missouri
2011 - Mike Brey, Notre Dame
2010 - Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
2009 - Bill Self, Kansas
2008 - Keno Davis, Drake
2007 - Tony Bennett, Washington State
2006 - Roy Williams, North Carolina
2005 - Bruce Weber, Illinois
2004 - Phil Martelli, Saint Joseph's
2003 - Tubby Smith, Kentucky
2002 - Ben Howland, Pittsburgh
2001 - Matt Doherty, North Carolina
2000 - Larry Eustachy, Iowa State
1999 - Cliff Ellis, Auburn
1998 - Tom Izzo, Michigan State
1997 - Clem Haskins, Minnesota
1996 - Gene Keady, Purdue
1995 - Kelvin Sampson, Oklahoma
1994 - Norm Stewart, Missouri
1993 - Eddie Fogler, Vanderbilt
1992 - Roy Williams, Kansas
1991 - Randy Ayers, Ohio State
1990 - Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
1989 - Bob Knight, Indiana
1988 - John Chaney, Temple
1987 - Tom Davis, Iowa
1986 - Eddie Sutton, Kentucky
1985 - Bill Frieder, Michigan
1984 - Ray Meyer, DePaul
1983 - Guy Lewis, Houston
1982 - Ralph Miller, Oregon State
1981 - Ralph Miller, Oregon State
1980 - Ray Meyer, DePaul
1979 - Bill Hodges, Indiana State
1978 - Eddie Sutton, Arkansas
1977 - Bob Gaillard, San Francisco
1976 - Bob Knight, Indiana
1975 - Bob Knight, Indiana
1974 - Norm Sloan, North Carolina State
1973 - John Wooden, UCLA
1972 - John Wooden, UCLA
1971 - Al McGuire, Marquette
1970 - John Wooden, UCLA
1969 - John Wooden, UCLA
1968 - Guy Lewis, Houston
1967 - John Wooden, UCLA

Coach Jim Larrañaga’s 2012-13 Awards

• Associated Press Coach of the Year
• USBWA Henry Iba National Coach of the Year
• Skip Prosser Man of the Year award finalist
• Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year finalist
• Naismith Coach of the Year finalist
• USBWA Coach of the Year - District IV
• NABC All-District Coach - District 2
• ACC Coach of the Year (Coaches)
• ACC Coach of the Year (ASCMA)
• ACC Coach of the Year - Sports Illustrated (Seth Davis)
• ACC Coach of the Year - ESPN (Jason King)
• All-Coaches Teams - First Team - ESPN (Jason King)