Dec. 9, 2010

CORAL GABLES, Fla. - University of Miami senior wide receiver Leonard Hankerson has been named the recipient of the College Football Performance Awards 2010 Elite Wide Receiver Trophy. Hankerson will receive his award during the first half of the men's basketball game against Stetson on Sunday, Dec. 12 at 4 p.m.

College Football Performance Awards Executive Director Brad Smith will be on hand to present the trophy to Hankerson, who earned the award after turning in one of the most productive seasons for a wide receiver in program history.

On the year, Hankerson has caught 66 balls for 1,085 yards, for an average of 16.4 yards per catch and 90.4 yards per game. He has scored at least one touchdown in nine of Miami's 12 games in 2010.

His 12 touchdown catches this season is a Miami record, breaking Michael Irvin's mark of 11 set in 1986. In the Hurricanes' regular season finale, Hankerson became just the third player in program history to record a 1,000-yard receiving season and the first to have 2,000 yards for a career and 1,000 yards in a season. His 21 career receiving touchdowns rank third all-time at Miami behind Michael Irvin (26) and Lamar Thomas (23).

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

The 2010 Elite Wide Receiver Trophy is a 22" optic crystal tower with 8' crystal football on top.